What is ‘Duncan’s Dugout’?

So, why choose to write a sports blog? Recently, I’ve found myself asking difficult questions about what I want to do in the future – but never really addressed what I wanted to do right now. I’ve always has a very keen interest in watching sport – particularly football and cricket – and playing sport, mainly hockey.

I do have aspirations of covering sport in some capacity in my future, so this is a great way to get some practice in and hopefully publish some decent pieces along the way.

This blog will mainly focus on the two sports I love to watch, as they’re the two I feel I can write the best about – the odd article about hockey, tennis or more may pop up occasionally, but I’ll be sticking to what I know.

I’ll be writing a lot of opinion pieces, focusing on a range of subjects such as selections for the national teams (in light of our dismal Ashes performance); honing in on the performances of players across games and seasons, with comparisons and statistics.

Although I don’t profess to know any more than any other sports-mad fan, with such a keen interest I’m excited to put my opinion out into the public eye. It wouldn’t be worth having an opinion if no-one disagreed with anything written – I’m very happy to discuss anything I’ve written further with readers if you think I’ve got it wrong.

I’ll be starting to get some articles going in the coming days; so if you’ve read this far, thanks very much for your time and stay tuned! I’m on Facebook and Twitter as Duncan’s Dugout, so if there’s anything you’d like me to write, please get in touch!

Leave a comment